Travel Grants

The European Society for Clinical Virology wishes to offer a number of travel grants to young researchers to enable them to attend their meetings and workshops.
For the annual ESCV meetings, the grants are awarded to students and trainees (up to age 40) who are ESCV members or have applied for ESCV membership and who will give an oral or a poster presentation at the meeting. Applications will be reviewed by members of the Scientific Committee and the grant will be given according to the quality of the abstract and availability of funds. The travel grant award will be € 750.

Grant applications must include:

1. Application on the following form

2. An official letter on your institution’s letterhead from your supervisor or head of the department, verifying the accuracy of the information and recommending the award

3. A copy of the abstract on the official form should be submitted by email to [email protected] before May 22, 2023.

Only one travel grant per recipient will be awarded.

Only complete applications can be regarded for a travel grant.

ESCV Awards

1) The Gardner Lectureship: Annual Lectureship to be given by an eminent virologist, preferably but not essentially, with a central interest and practical experience in the field of diagnostic or clinical virology.

2) Heine-Medin Award: The Heine-Medin Award will be awarded to a young promising scientist who presents a paper at the Annual Meeting of the ESCV.
IMPORTANT NOTE: Applications for the Heine-Medin Award (to the ESCV and President, Prof. Fausto Baldanti [email protected]) are much welcome.

3) Abbott Diagnostics Award: is awarded annually for original contributions in the area of viral diagnosis. Only ESCV members within less than 10 active years in virology after receiving a PhD or MD degree, are eligible for the Award. Candidates for the Award must have been an author of one or more papers on viral diagnosis published in a refereed scientific journal during the two years prior to the nomination.

4) Biomérieux Award: The ESCV Award for Leadership in Syndromic Infectious Disease Testing, sponsored by bioMérieux, is awarded annually for contributions to syndromic testing in the area of viral diagnosis. Only ESCV members are eligible for the Award.
The criteria and rules are available at the European Society for Clinical Virology website